16.5 C
New York
Sunday, September 24, 2023

Three Wheelchair Customers Introduced as 2023 Winners of Neilsen Basis’s $1 Million Visionary Prize

Three profile photos, a Black woman wearing a fuscha top, a white male using a manual wheelchair and a Black man using a power wheelchair.
Carmen Daniels Jones, Victor Calise and Vincent Pierce (left to proper)

On Sept. 19, the opens in a brand new windowCraig H. Neilsen Basis revealed the 2023 winners of its annual Visionary Prize, given to people who’re working to make the world a greater place for folks dwelling with spinal twine accidents. This yr’s awards go to Vincent Pierce, Carmen Daniels Jones and Victor Calise — who will every obtain an unrestricted $1 million prize.

Vincent Pierce was named certainly one of New Mobility’s opens in a brand new window2021 Folks of the Yr for his work preventing for the lives of disabled nursing residence residents in the course of the COVID pandemic. He’s the director of the opens in a brand new windowOpen Doorways basis, a poet and music producer that runs music applications for underserved youth and the founding father of #NursingHomeLivesMatter, which seeks to enhance situations for folks of shade in long-term care.

Carmen Daniels Jones is a board member of United Spinal Affiliation who runs a advertising consulting agency that develops data-driven methods for organizations to market to, serve and make use of folks with disabilities. She at present serves on the U.S. Entry Board, which coordinates efforts to enhance accessibility and inclusion within the federal authorities’s applications, companies and laws.

Victor Calise, a longtime incapacity advocate, is at present the director of Walmart’s not too long ago established Accessibility Heart of Excellence. Earlier than his time at Walmart, Calise spent over 20 years in public service opens in a brand new windowpreventing for higher accessibility in New York Metropolis, culminating in his 2012 to 2022 tenure as Commissioner of the New York Metropolis Mayor’s Workplace for Folks with Disabilities.

“The Neilsen Basis is honored to award Victor, Carmen, and Vincent the 2023 Visionary Prize,” mentioned Kym Eisner, govt director of the Neilsen Basis. “These three leaders exemplify the values of the Neilsen Basis and the dedication to altering the world for the higher — as our founder did. We’re proud to assist them as they proceed to make a long-lasting mark of their efforts to complement the lives of individuals dwelling with SCI.”

Since 2020, the Neilsen Basis has awarded the Visionary Prize to 12 folks throughout the U.S. and Canada. So far, 4 of the recipients — opens in a brand new windowReveca Torres, opens in a brand new windowAndrea Dalzell, opens in a brand new windowYannick Benjamin and Vincent Pierce — have additionally been NM Folks of the Yr. Be taught extra about this yr’s winners on the opens in a brand new windowNeilsen Basis’s web site.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles